jump to navigation

In which I say goodbye to Everett July 2, 2010

Posted by Amy in Journalism, Seattle P-I, seattlepi.com, The Herald.
trackback

I started working at the Everett Herald less than a week after the Seattle Post-Intelligencer stopped publishing.

Almost 16 months and a few speeding tickets later, I’m making another change. Today is my last day at the scrappy community newspaper that’s been part of Snohomish County’s fabric for nearly 110 years.

It doesn’t feel like this is really a goodbye. The truth is, Everett and I go way back. Way, way back.

That’s John Krause, my great-great-grandfather, on the job in Everett during the early 20th century. He was a conductor on the Interurban Rail.

I like to think he would have been pleased that I worked for his hometown paper.

I’ve worked with a fantastic team of journalists at the Herald. Maybe the most notable is Mike Benbow, an editor who does his best to uphold traditional journalistic values while encouraging non-traditional storytelling and innovation.

He’s also pretty entertaining. I never thought I’d say this, but I’ll miss having my afternoon interrupted by an over-the-top rendition of Pure Prairie League’s “Amie” being belted out two desks away.

But I won’t miss the drive.

I spend about eight hours a week driving from Seattle to Everett. That’s more than 17 days a year — about two and a half weeks.

I’ll make the drive for the last time today, but not before I say this: Thanks for letting me tell your stories, Snohomish County. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you.

I’ll start my new job at Seattlepi.com on July 12.

Comments»

1. Jessica - July 2, 2010

That’s the sweetest farewell. And your conductor great-great grandfather? Awesome!

2. paulbalcerak - July 7, 2010

Welcome back to Seattle (in work format). Looking forward to seeing what you do at the pi.

3. amyrolph - July 7, 2010

Thanks, Jessica and Paul! Looking forward to what comes next.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

